Conditions for the Award of the IB Diploma

Performance in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme is assessed by means of criteria that vary for each subject. These performance criteria consist in every case of some or all of the following: internal evaluations of written work, portfolios, oral components and written examinations.

The IB diploma will be awarded to students who have fulfilled their CAS commitment and whose total score (including up to 3 bonus points for TOK and the Extended Essay) reaches or exceeds 24 points and does not include any of the following failing conditions:

1. CAS requirements have not been met.
2. Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.
3. An N has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay or for a contributing subject.
4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).
7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL
subjects, the three highest grades count).
9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points