GENERAL RESOURCES FOR ALL CDNIS COMMUNITY

Care Fair 2015

Rustic Pathways: http://rusticpathways.com/ (worldwide)

World Volunteer: http://world-volunteer.com/ (Laos, Sri Lanka & India)

YMCA Hong Kong (Camping Div.): http://www.ymcahk.org.hk/PHE/index.htm (HK)

Camps International: http://www.campsinternational.com/ (worldwide)

World Challenge: http://www.world-challenge.co.uk/ (worldwide)

National Outdoor Leadership School: http://www.nols.edu/# (worldwide)

World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms: http://www.wwoof.net/ (worldwide)

Nepal Youth Foundation: http://www.nepalyouthfoundation.org.hk/ (Nepal)

UPPER SCHOOL

The Upper School has either worked with or raised awareness and funds for the following organizations over the past few years

Global Goals Clubs (GGC’s)

Amnesty International (teacher supervisors: Lily Chan at lilychan@cdnis.edu.hk and Steve Myrden steve.myrden@cdnis.edu.hk

Environmental Club  (teacher supervisors: Brent MacEachern and Darrell Sharp)

Habitat For Humanity (teacher supervisors: Heather Jablonowski at heatherjablonowski@cdnis.edu.hk, Lucy Sadler and David Larsson)

SAGE Students Advocates for Gender Equality (teacher supervisor: Denise Berry)

Interact Club (teacher supervisor: Kenneth Tang)

The Alliance (teacher supervisor: Anthony Jackson and Colleen Williams)

ORBIS Club (teacher supervisor: Joanne Huang at joannehuang@cdnis.edu.hk and Ben Chu)

RESPECT (refugee education) (teacher supervisor: Lolita Schmalenberg at lolita.schmalenberg@cdnis.edu.hk)

The Reading Tree (teacher supervisor: Gregg Lee at gregglee@cdnis.edu.hk)

UNICEF Club (teacher supervisor: Tim Woo)

Others

Christian Action

Crossroads Foundation

Feeding HongKong

Hong Kong Breast Cancer Foundation

Hong Kong Dog Rescue

Justice Centre

Ocean Conservancy – International Coastal Cleanup

Plastic Free Seas

Room to Read

Soap Cycling

Vision First

World Vision

WWF

WEB RESOURCES TO EXPLORE

Hong Kong Sources:

Volunteering Opportunities in HK – the publication of Mana Mehta’s (CDNIS student) Personal Project to share the variety of volunteering options that exist in HK for young people, a great example of taking action that has a broad impact!

HandsOn HK volunteering calendar

Connect Hong Kong – an example of a student (from CIS) taking action and building bridges between NGOs and student volunteers!

Hong Kong opportunities for English Speakers – Agency for Volunteer Service

Hong Kong Education Bureau Activity Databank

Hong Kong Community Advice Bureau

Volunteering in Hong Kong Blog

Have more ideas? Get in touch with the Coordinator of Local & Global Engagement, Mr Matthew Schulte (matthew.schulte@cdnis.edu.hk)