GENERAL RESOURCES FOR ALL CDNIS COMMUNITY

Care Fair 2015

Rustic Pathways: http://rusticpathways.com/ (worldwide)

World Volunteer: http://world-volunteer.com/ (Laos, Sri Lanka & India)

YMCA Hong Kong (Camping Div.): http://www.ymcahk.org.hk/PHE/index.htm (HK)

Camps International: http://www.campsinternational.com/ (worldwide)

World Challenge: http://www.world-challenge.co.uk/ (worldwide)

National Outdoor Leadership School: http://www.nols.edu/# (worldwide)

World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms: http://www.wwoof.net/ (worldwide)

Nepal Youth Foundation: http://www.nepalyouthfoundation.org.hk/ (Nepal)

UPPER SCHOOL

The Upper School has either worked with or raised awareness and funds for the following organizations over the past few years

Global Issues Network (GIN) groups

Amnesty International (teacher supervisor: Lily Chan at lilychan@cdnis.edu.hk and Jon Adams at jonadams@cdnis.edu.hk)

Environmental Club  (teacher supervisor: Smriti Safaya at smritisafaya@cdnis.edu.hk and Stephen Smeed at stephensmeed@cdnis.edu.hk)

Habitat For Humanity (teacher supervisor: Heather Jablonowski at heatherjablonowski@cdnis.edu.hk)

SAGE Students Advocates for Gender Equality (teacher supervisor: Nicole Ifi at nicoleifi@cdnis.edu.hk)

Interact Club (teacher supervisor: Denise Berry at deniseberry@cdnis.edu.hk)

LGBTS Alliance (teacher supervisor: Dan Neville at danneville@cdnis.edu.hk)

ORBIS Club (teacher supervisor: Joanne Huang at joannehuang@cdnis.edu.hk)

RESPECT (refugee education) (teacher supervisor: Scott Atherton at scottatherton@cdnis.edu.hk)

The Reading Tree (teacher supervisor: Gregg Lee at gregglee@cdnis.edu.hk)

UNICEF Club (teacher supervisor: Cinder Merritt at cindermerritt@cdnis.edu.hk)

Others

Christian Action

Crossroads Foundation

Feeding HongKong

Hong Kong Breast Cancer Foundation

Hong Kong Dog Rescue

Justice Centre

Ocean Conservancy – International Coastal Cleanup

Plastic Free Seas

Room to Read

Soap Cycling

Vision First

World Vision

WWF

WEB RESOURCES TO EXPLORE

Hong Kong Sources:

Volunteering Opportunities in HK – the publication of Mana Mehta’s (CDNIS student) Personal Project to share the variety of volunteering options that exist in HK for young people, a great example of taking action that has a broad impact!

HandsOn HK volunteering calendar

Connect Hong Kong – an example of a student (from CIS) taking action and building bridges between NGOs and student volunteers!

Hong Kong opportunities for English Speakers – Agency for Volunteer Service

Hong Kong Education Bureau Activity Databank

Hong Kong Community Advice Bureau

Volunteering in Hong Kong Blog

Have more ideas? Get in touch with the Coordinators of Local & Global Engagement, Ms. Kim Campbell at kimcampbell@cdnis.edu.hk and Ms. Smriti Safaya at smritisafaya@cdnis.edu.hk.